Bacon, Egg and Spinach Breakfast Wraps

photo 4 (6)
Oh breakfast. I hate breakfast. I have SUCH a hard time eating in the morning. Even when it isn’t first thing in the morning. Meaning I can wake up, shower, get ready for work (which takes between 30-45 minutes depending on what’s happening with my hair) and still not want to eat anything. I know how important that meal is, but I really have a hard time forcing that food down my throat. One way I’ve really helped myself is by forgetting about “typical” breakfast foods. I don’t like eggs very much, especially when you can taste them. Usually I will grab some leftovers from the night before and try to eat as much of that as possible. Once you get past the fact that you’re eating chicken salad or spaghetti squash pizza casserole at 9 am, it’s much more tolerable for me. I also love meal prepping with egg muffins because they are super quick to grab.

I’ve been remarkably good with eating in the morning going on three weeks now. I’m actually pretty impressed with myself, and also really impressed with how full it keeps me throughout the day. I was never starving when I skipped breakfast, but come noon I was ready for lunch. Now, I could wait until 3 to eat. I don’t, because I need food for energy so I snack, but I could. Thank god for leftovers!

Sometimes however, we don’t have any leftovers. For the most part, they all go into TJ’s lunch. When that happens I have to get creative. The other day I didn’t have time to whip up some scrambled eggs (ew) and sit down to eat them, so I needed to figure out something I could make and take. I’ve gotten bacon wake up wraps at Dunkin Donuts before, but those make me feel gross after. Too much cheese and too much wrap. So I figured I would just make my own version. I used two eggs as the wrap, popped in spinach and bacon and ran out the door. It probably only took 20 minutes total, letting the bacon cook in the oven when I was getting ready for work.

In more important news, I’m completely obsessed with the song Leave the Light On by Sam Hunt. I heard him play it live on a radio station I listen to like 4 weeks ago and immediately downloaded it. I’m definitely going to get sick of it because I listen to it on repeat when I’m driving, but I don’t care. I love it. It’s so upbeat! It’s a great song to start my morning off with.

Ingredients:

2 eggs, whisked

2 pieces of bacon, cooked.

1/4 cup spinach

photo 3 (14)

Directions:

Cook your bacon. I let mine cook in the oven while I did my makeup for work. It’s all about time management!

Cook your eggs. I have a tiny little non stick pan that is perfect for making these. I just dumped my whisked eggs into the pan and let it cook until it was almost done, flipped it once and slid the eggs right onto a plate. They came out the perfect size, so I suggest using a smaller frying pan to make this easier on yourself. Then just lay your spinach and bacon onto the cooked eggs, roll it up and enjoy! Super quick and easy recipe for those morning when you really just don’t feel like putting any effort into it.

photo 1 (15)

This is me eating my wrap at work

photo 2 (16)

And once from the side!

 

 

Leave a Reply

