Shredded Chicken with Crack Sauce

photo 3 (3)

Yup, you read the right: crack sauce. I am obsessed with making shredded chicken. Maybe because it means I can just put random crap in the crock pot and when I get home, dinner is ready. Maybe its because I really like shredded chicken. Whatever the reason, I make it at least once a week. Since I make it so often, I usually try to find different ways to spice it up or flavor it so we don’t get really sick of it. Sometimes I’ll make shredded buffalo chicken cups, sometimes I make chicken salad. This time, I decided to finally try making paleo BBQ dressing.

I had a TON of cabbage in the fridge that had to be eaten, so it made sense to make BBQ shredded chicken and coleslaw. Upon looking for BBQ sauce recipes, I was pretty disgusted to see the amount of sugar in them. Of course, there are a ton of paleo BBQ sauce recipes out there. But none of them appealed to me. Like at all. Plus, most were a red based, sweeter sauce. I went to school in South Carolina (go Gamecocks), so I am more into mustard and vinegar based sauces. I gave up trying to find a recipe and decided to just play around with stuff I had in the kitchen. What came out ended up being literally one of the most delicious dipping sauces I’ve ever had. I could eat it on almost everything. Even TJ, ever the skeptic, who’s immediate reaction was “that doesn’t look like any BBQ sauce I’ve ever seen,” completely changed his tune once he tried it.

The pictures I took are all kind of gross and colorless, so I am embarrassed to even post them. I don’t know why I didn’t put the ever-present kale salad on the plate to give it a little green, but I didn’t. So, these just look like some good old down-home Southern plates of food. Which, arguably, I guess they are. The picture I used at the beginning of this post is from another time I made shredded chicken (I honestly do make it once a week) with a broccoli slaw. Those bags at the grocery store make veggies so easy!

photo 5 (3)

A quick note on the crack sauce recipe: it does contain sour cream, aka dairy, aka not-completely-paleo. You can omit it. The flavor won’t change much. I based this recipe off of my mom’s recipe for her coleslaw, which contains sour cream, but if you want to keep it strict, just cut it out.

For the sauce:

Ingredients:

3 tbsp. olive oil

1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar (red wine vinegar works fine as a substitute.)

1 tbsp. YELLOW mustard. This part is important. I use Dijon for almost every recipe, but the yellow mustard is really important to the flavor here.

1/2 tsp sour cream

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp minced garlic

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. Optional. This will give the sauce a lot more kick.

Combine everything in a small bowl and whisk until it is blended. I made mine about 4 hours ahead of time to allow the flavors to really meld together. TJ mentioned that he thought the chicken would be really good if the sauce had sat on it all day, which I didn’t do. My point is, this sauce gets better with time. Feel free to double or triple the recipe and use it on any and everything.

For the chicken:

Ingredients:

1/2 yellow onion, roughly chopped

2-4 stalks of celery, roughly chopped

2-4 carrots, peeled and roughly chopped

1/2 cup water

3 dry bay leaves. Optional, but I had them so I threw them in.

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

Pepper to taste

Directions:

Place your ingredients in your crock pot in the order they appear above, meaning your chicken goes in last. Coat everything in pepper, cover and let cook. I have a crock pot on steroids (very similar to this one), so when I cook chicken on high for about 4 hours, it is perfectly done. You’ll know when your chicken is done because it will shred very easily using just 2 forks to pull it apart.

photo 1 (13)

There are few things I find as disgusting as raw chicken. So naturally, I decided to share it. You’re welcome.

photo 3 (13)

Almost done!

I decided to shred my chicken and then top it with the sauce. But, as TJ suggested, it would be much better to shred the chicken, top it with the sauce, and then let it cook on low or warm (depending on your settings) for another 1/2 hour or so. This was just as good (if not better) the next day.

I used the same BBQ sauce recipe (made again, there is not enough to go around using the recipe above) for my coleslaw. All you need is about 4 cups of  shredded cabbage (green, purple or both), plus some shredded carrots and grated onion if you have it, mix it with the sauce, let it sit for about an hour, and you’re good to go.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

