Favorite Recipe Round Up

photo

This picture is from buffalo chicken pasta that I made last week. I take absolutely no credit for this recipe whatsoever. I used Juli Baur’s recipe and changed nothing. Actually, that’s a lie. I actually used 1/2 as much mayo as her recipe calls for, I used Frank’s Hot Sauce rather than Tessemae’s and I added bacon on top. But other than that, everything is the exact same. It’s so good, there is no reason to change a THING about it.

I usually share my own recipes, or at least a variation that I came up with based on someone else’s recipe. However, last night I asked TJ random questions about my cooking. I asked him what he would do if he hated my cooking. He said he would cook his own food. I asked him what he would do if I ate like shit. He responded simply (and quickly) “I would dump you.” Ok, good to know where we stand on health matters I guess. Then I asked him what his favorite things are that I cook. To be fair, he is probably the least picky person ever. He has only told me once that he didn’t like something that I cooked, and it was because I cooked salmon with the skin on top and it ended up being fishy (for the record, he still ate it). So, this isn’t to say that I’m an exceptional cook or that my recipes are the best things ever. I have a pretty easy-to-please audience. So I think it was interesting to hear what his favorite things are that I make, especially since they differ from my favorites quite a bit.

One thing on both of our lists, however, was Juli’s recipe for buffalo chicken pasta. He says when he eats it that he can almost taste the blue cheese (of which there is none). It’s a ridiculously good recipe and I urge everyone to try it. In case you were wondering, also on TJ’s list were: pork chops marinated with Alanna from Planks, Love and Guacamole Best Pork Chop Ever marinade, “pinecones” as he referred to my artichokes, and these two salads (1 and 2). I personally love both versions of Brussels Sprouts that I make (1 and 2), kale chips, creamy kale salad, and Juli Baur’s almost-5-ingredient pizza pie.

I was asked last week what was my favorite recipe from my blog, and I can’t pick just one. I usually have a rotation of about 20 things going at all times, and every once in a while get inspired to try something new. I cook food because I like food. I want all of my recipes to be good; and when they are not, I am certainly not going to share them with the internet.

I mentioned that I was going to Dewey Beach last weekend and that I had never been before. I LOVED it. It’s so small and quaint and everything is within walking distance. I think that was my favorite part. If you live in the area, you should definitely go.

We got there pretty late Friday night because I had a work function in Baltimore until about 5. We woke up at around 9 the next morning and started the day with mimosas at brunch. After that we headed to our hotel pool for a bit, then went to North Shore to have drinks on the water in the sand. Because of this chain of events, I don’t have any pictures that I think I should be posting on here. I’m not sure they should be posted anywhere, but there are some floating around Facebook and Instagram that I am less than proud of. I also ate like crap, something I paid for all day Sunday (on top of my hangover).

Lesson of the weekend: I am not 21 anymore. A day full of drinking = me asleep, alone, by about 6 pm while everyone else managed to go out. I woke up from my “nap” after about 2 hours and met everyone else, but I just can’t hang like I used to.

Leave a Reply

