Buffalo Garlic Brussels Sprouts

photo 2

I love Brussels sprouts. Like, could eat them daily love them. They are definitely something I didn’t learn to appreciate and love until I was well into my mid-twenties, but now that I know how to cook them, we will never stop eating them.

Luckily for me, TJ loves them just as much as I do, so we pretty much DO eat them daily. Luckily for both of us, they are incredibly good for you. Unluckily for both of us, I always made them the same way. As good as that recipe is. it can get kind of boring after a while. Finally, I decided to try out something different. I love Brussels sprouts, but I also love wings and buffalo sauce. Why oh why did I never think to combine those two things?

Let’s talk about books. And dreams. Or nightmares. I read a lot. Every night before bed, I read. It helps me fall asleep. Recently I finished the Maze Runner series, including the prequel. I hate zombie stories, so if I had known that’s what it would lead to, I never would have started them. Anyways, the night that I finished the prequel, I had horrible nightmares. One where a man (or zombie?) was trying to attack me, and I couldn’t run (which is true in real life thanks to my car accident, but my running issue is a story for another day).

The next night I decided to read something really light and easy to get away from the post-apocalyptic zombie scariness. Since I read it years ago, and since Something Borrowed was just on TV, I started re-reading Something Blue by Emily Giffen. The very basic plot is that a couple is happily married and fully agree that they don’t want kids. About 3 years into their marriage, the husband suddenly changes his tune and wants kids. They end up getting divorced, and the story goes on from there. (I swear this isn’t a spoiler, this all happens in the first few chapters, the real story comes after the divorce). Well that night, I dreamt that TJ and I had a horrible break up. Just like in the book, it was over not wanting kids. And just like in the book, we were both stubborn and refused to communicate about the subject (which is not at all how our relationship works, thank God). I woke up honestly upset until I looked around and realized that I was still in our house, in our bedroom.

Am I the biggest loser ever for letting these books get into my subconscious so much? I thought a light, easy read like an Emily Giffen book wouldn’t have as much of an effect as a zombie book would, but I think I was wrong. Am I the only person who this has ever happened to, or is this normal? I need answers people!!

Ingredients:

1 bag of Brussels sprouts, or about 3-4 cups depending on size.

1/2 pound bacon (optional, I just always throw meat in a recipe when I can). If you do not use bacon, you will need another fat (ghee, butter, olive oil) to cook your sprouts in.

1/2 tsp pepper

2 tbsp. butter. Kerrygold is my favorite. You can also omit this, but having worked in restaurants my whole life, I personally think this is the best way to make a wing sauce.

1 tbsp. chopped garlic

1/2 cup buffalo sauce. Many are not considered paleo because they had added sugar (read your labels people!) I always use Frank’s Hot Sauce because the only ingredients are aged cayenne red pepper, vinegar, water, salt and garlic powder.

Directions:

Cook your bacon. I like mine crispy, so I put it on a baking rack (one of my favorite kitchen tools ever) and stick it in the oven at 400 until it is crispy. While your bacon cools, cook your Brussels sprouts in the leftover bacon fat. Cook until they are crispy, but not so long that they turn into mush – about 25 minutes.

photo 2 (10)

Baked Sprouts

While your sprouts cook, whisk together your sauce in a large bowl using the remaining ingredients.

photo 1 (10)

Buffalo Garlic sauce, pre-sprout mixing

When your sprouts are done, toss them in the buffalo sauce with the bacon while they are still hot, and immediately serve them.

photo 3 (10)

Mid-toss

photo 1

Voila!

One response

  1. Pingback: Favorite Recipe Round Up | Paleo For Beginners

Leave a Reply

