Onion Apple Pork Burgers

photo 1 (11)

Fireworks on the 3rd of July from my dad’s boat

This recipe is making me crazy. I know I saw it on a blog, and I SWEAR I saw it on Juli Baur’s blog, but I have scoured high and low and I can’t find it. If anyone has seen this recipe before and thinks I totally stole it, please let me know where you saw it!

You already know that I think bacon, jalapeno and ground chicken go amazing together. And that I think bacon and bison make a great burger. Actually, if you’re a frequent reader of my blog at all, you’ll know that I love all types of burgers. My burger recipes tend to be the most popular recipes that I post.

But before we get to the recipe, let’s talk about what’s really important here: this weekend. July 3rd-4th is my favorite holiday of the entire year. I love Christmas too, but the 4th of July doesn’t leave you with that slight melancholy feeling once it’s over the way Christmas does. Plus, I love nothing more than spending a ton of time with my family and closest friends, and that’s all I did all weekend for the 4th. And you can’t spend Christmas on boats watching fireworks at night and on sandbars during the day. At least not in Maryland. And of course an extra day off of work never hurt anyone either. We’re going to Dewey Beach next weekend to celebrate TJ’s brother Kevin’s birthday and I am so excited! We have had stuff going on every weekend lately. Usually that gets exhausting, but I am loving it so far! I’ve never been to Dewey, so I’m excited to see a different scene from the usual Ocean City stuff. Ok, now prepare yourself for completely un-food related picture overload:

photo 3 (11)

This is TJ and I on our second annual Annapolis bar crawl. We’re at Metropolitan’s Rooftop Bar here, taking things as seriously as ever.

photo 2 (12)

My sister and I (with a firework behind us!) on the 4th

photo (1)

The sandbar where we spent the day on the 4th

photo (3)

Crabs and beer, starting off our bar crawl

photo (2)

And one last scenic picture, because I love where I live

photo 4 (2)

And, to be nice, a picture of the actual recipe which is probably the only picture you even care about

Let me just tell you, there are few things that go together as well as apple, onion and ground pork.  This recipe is stupid easy and it only requires 4 ingredients. In the picture above, I served it on top of my creamy kale salad, and they paired really nicely together. Like I said, I love burgers, and apparently so do you guys. They’re always my most read posts.

This post is all over the place. But so is my mind on Mondays after a long weekend, so you’re going to have to learn to love it.

Ingredients:

1 lb ground pork

1/2 green apple, diced

1/2 white onion, diced

1 egg

Directions:

Combine all of the ingredients in a large bowl and mix with your hands. Form your mixture into patties (this recipe yielded me about 8 smaller-sized burgers).

You have a few options for cooking the burgers. If you have a grill, obviously throw them on there! We don’t have a grill, so I usually pan sear them and cook them in the oven for about 15 minutes on 375 degrees. Be sure that you cook your meat all the way through (no pink showing), since it is pork.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

