Tuna Fish Deviled Eggs

photo 2 (1)

I learned an interesting lesson this month. I have spent the last 18 months looking forward to certain dates, thinking those specific days would bring “the end” to a particular chapter of my life. Specifically, I was counting the days to a court date that I had looming over my head, a doctors appointment for my ankle that I had to wait 7 months for and a few other things.

What I learned two weeks ago was: it was the end. Of that chapter. I think I was waiting for the proverbial book to end. It wasn’t until I went to court and went to those doctors appointments that I realized- nothing was over. The hard part was. What I was dreading was. But try as I might, I still can’t completely put this stuff behind me. Because once I get past one thing, three more come up that need to be handled. The hard parts of court are behind me, but I still have other legal stuff I need to handle. The world renowned doctor I waited 7 months to see didn’t give me any more answers than any other doctor I have seen so far (and I have seen a lot, in case anyone is counting). The ear I have been waiting to heal for 6 (almost 7) months to heal is no closer to being healed, and I have to have another previously unplanned procedure on it this week.

So the conclusion that I have come to is actually a refreshing one. Once I got past the frustration that I spent well over a year thinking that the end would come eventually and realizing that I am still no where near the end, I decided that I needed to change my way of thinking. I had already become pretty good at not worrying about things that I can’t control, but I needed to just stop thinking about things I can’t control. Good or bad. I don’t focus on the bad as it is, but I can’t even let myself think about the good, because I’ll inevitably be let down.

That might sound like a pessimistic way of looking at things, but it really isn’t. I don’t see the point is in wasting a single thought on anything that I have no control over. So from now on, I’m not going to. It’s as simple as that.

This was also my way of explaining why I haven’t been posting as frequently lately. I have all of these recipes that I want to share (paleo Pad Thai, paleo spaghetti and meatballs, sriracha maple chicken, kale salad with creamy dressing) but I just haven’t taken the time to photograph them when I cook them. I guess I could start posting things without pictures, but what fun is that? I need to step my game up.

This recipe is an incredibly simple thing to make and it really ups your protein intake for a simple snack. I am always trying to come up with different ways of basically giving TJ the same foods over and over in his lunch. Tuna fish with mayo and pickles has to get old after the 450th time, right? And just regular old deviled eggs really isn’t a solid base of a meal.

I had tuna and I had eggs, so my first thought was to make a Nicoise Salad. Those salads are a pretty basic French food staple and I absolutely love them. But, I didn’t have any lettuce, I didn’t have any hearts of palm and in fact I didn’t have really anything else that I love putting my Nicoise Salads besides tuna and eggs. So, I got creative. They turned out really cute and really good. Plus they were easy to make!

photo 3 (2)

Before I get into the logistics of making the deviled eggs, I think I should mention the easiest way to make hard boiled eggs ever. It took me YEARS of screwing this up to finally figure out how to do it right.

To hard-boil eggs:

Place a pot of water on the stove to boil. Once the water is boiling, place eggs inside and set a timer for 15 minutes. As soon as the timer goes off, dump the hot water and run the eggs under freezing cold water. I sometimes even add ice to the water. This will stop the eggs from cooking any more. Let the eggs sit in cold water until they are no longer warm. I usually have to dump the water and refill it with cold water at least once because the eggs will warm the water up.

Ingredients:

3 hard boiled eggs. You double, triple, whatever you need to do to this recipe to make it work for your purposes.

1 can of tuna

1 tbsp. yellow mustard

1 tbsp. paleo mayo

Salt

Pepper

Scallions to garnish (optional)

Directions:

Hard boil the eggs per the directions above.

Once cooked, peel the eggs and slice them in half. Remove the yolks and put the egg white aside for now. Put the yolks into a bowl along with all of the other ingredients except for the scallions. Mix everything together. Using a spoon (or your hands) fill the hole in the egg whites with your mixture. Top with the scallions and you’re done!

 

Leave a Reply

