Egg Muffins

photo 2

 

Back to back posts?! Insanity. I know you missed these recipes though!

I feel like I should clarify where my post from yesterday came from, because it was a little intense. I have mentioned before that I am not a nutritionist. I am not a Crossfit certified trainer. My degree is in public relations and I work for an alcohol distributor. My life does not revolve around fitness or nutrition. I am just someone who found Crossfit addicting and the paleo diet to be something that worked for me and my lifestyle. I have never claimed that paleo is the end all be all way of eating. For many people (myself included) it is just a loose guideline to follow. In fact, almost everyone that I am friends with who has asked me for a recipe is not paleo at all, they just want a new recipe to try. My kale chips might be served alongside a very non-paleo lasagna. I don’t really care. My goal isn’t to convert anyone to eating paleo. It’s to help make it easier on anyone who is trying to eat paleo, and share recipes with anyone else who might just be looking for a new way to make chicken salad.

I have read and researched, watched documentaries and legitimately tried to learn more about different diets, different workout regimens and the US food industry as a whole. I honestly probably read more articles against Crossfit and Paleo than I read in support of them. I like knowing the opposing viewpoints. I don’t need to constantly read things to back up why I do what I do, because I already know why I do what I do. Because I want to. Because it works for me. Because it makes me happy. Everything I read or watch, I take with a grain of salt (as I hope everyone does). What makes the person writing the article for paleo/Crossfit any more reliable than the person writing the article against it? Many people seek out articles to back up their viewpoints (both for and against) and post them with reckless abandon, although I have yet to figure out what their end goal was. Did you think that one article passionately written by an anti-Crossfitter would suddenly make a light bulb go off in my head and make me stop working out that way?

I respect all of the people posting articles about why Crossfit is wrong, why they would never do Crossfit, why the paleo diet is an archaic way of thinking, etc. I also really want to know where they went so right in their lives, how they got to be so perfect, that they get to judge anyone else’s decisions; especially when it comes to people just trying to be healthier or more active. Live and let live.

I promise this is my last super hippie-sounding rant about how everyone should just get along and hold hands and love one another.

On to the super easy egg muffin recipe. Does anyone else think its super cute to make things other than sugar loaded muffins in muffin tins? Meat muffins are always fun. Egg muffins are super easy and both make for awesome meal prep. Keep in mind the ingredient list will change depending on the size of the muffin tin you use. I have a mini muffin tin and an oversized one (it makes 6 muffins instead of the normal 12), so that changes up how much of everything I use.

photo 3 (1)

Ingredients:

8 eggs, whisked.

Vegetables.  You can really go anywhere with these. I usually use a cup of spinach, 1/2 cup of chopped broccoli, 1/2 cup chopped tomatoes, 1 chopped jalapeno (omit if you don’t like things as spicy as I do) and 1-2 peeled carrots. If you have any other vegetables that you love, feel free to add those as well. TJ likes cooked peppers. I do not, but I will cook them for him, so I usually include a chopped green pepper in there as well.

You can also add bacon crumbles or any other type of cooked meat crumble as well. This works especially well when you have leftover meat laying around from a previous meal.

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375. Whisk your eggs, then add all of your ingredients. This can be kind of a pain because the liquid of the egg and the solid vegetables don’t tend to mix super well. Grease your muffin tins with a fat of your choice (I usually use coconut oil) and spoon your mixture into the tins. You want to be sure that they are all relatively the same in terms of egg to vegetable ratio. If you don’t have enough egg in each tin, the vegetables will burn and you won’t get the cute little fluffy muffins.

One response

  1. Pingback: Bacon, Egg and Spinach Breakfast Wraps | Paleo For Beginners

Leave a Reply

