Paleo? Gluten Free? Vegan? Crossfit? Who Cares?

I haven’t posted in weeks. I could list about 40 reasons why and apologize, but basically it’s just because I didn’t feel the desire. And I’m not really that sorry about it. I have a lot of other shit going on in my life, and I have just been focusing elsewhere.

The last month or so, for some reason, I have noticed a heightened pressure/discussion/dissection/whatever you want to call it about diets, dieting, gluten-free and paleo. I actually get pretty pissed off seeing numerous “friends” (I am using that term very loosely here and I mean it in the Facebook sense of the word) of mine post an article on Facebook about how gluten-free diets are crap. Maybe unless you have celiac disease, avoiding gluten does nothing for you. Maybe people who claim they have a gluten sensitivity are full of it. Or maybe not. But that’s not what bothers me. What bothers me is why the hell these people care about what someone else is or isn’t eating.

I eat (mostly) paleo, and I have explained why here. I process gluten just fine. I don’t have an issue with soy, nuts or dairy. I eat paleo for my own reasons, many of which differ from why other people started eating paleo. I write a blog and run an Instagram basically solely for my own enjoyment, as well as to share recipes with friends and family who have asked for them. But I don’t shove my beliefs it down anyone’s throat. If you think paleo is a bunch of bullshit, that’s cool. I don’t really care about anyone’s opinion except for myself and the other person living in my household that I cook for. It’s my diet. It’s my kitchen. This is my blog.

Juli Baur had an incredibly powerful blog post about this same topic today. She and I share the exact some viewpoint on this subject matter. I am fortunate to not have had the disordered eating issues that she has had in the past, and I have had exactly 0% of the hate she gets on a daily basis because of how she looks, what she eats, etc; all of which I am thankful for. She handles it much better than I think I would have.

Juli’s post also addresses why she scaled back her workouts and competing in Crossfit so much. While our reasons couldn’t be more different, we have both taken significant steps back from where we once were – although hers was by choice and mine was more because I physically became incapable due to the injuries I sustained in my car accident. Crossfit is becoming more and more popular every day. This is awesome, and not at all something to make fun of or mock or talk shit about. It’s getting people moving. It’s getting them active. What is the problem with that?!

Do I think Crossfit is awesome? Absolutely. Do I think I will ever stop doing it? No. Do I wish I could be where I was (or stronger) than I was before my accident? Without a doubt. But do I think that it’s equally as awesome to run marathons, take walks around your neighborhood or go to the gym for “leg day?” Yes. Why hate on anyone for being active and getting out there and pushing themselves? There is bad press and horrible stories associated with Crossfit; but the same can be said for marathon runners, Olympic weightlifters, and pretty much any other type of exercise. As long as its being done safely, with professional trainers, why is anyone being negative?

For the most part, I tend to live my life focused on myself and what I want, need and desire. Yes, my boyfriends opinion on things has a big influence. Yes, I care immensely about my family and close friends opinions, mainly because I respect all of those people. But I live my life for me. I have to deal with the consequences of my decisions, not the asshole who posted yet another article about why gluten isn’t good for you (who probably has never even tried to stop eating gluten and experiment with how it made them feel.)

My best friend from college has been a vegetarian for years. This is the same girl who used to try every type of wings in every restaurant in town with me because we both loved wings so much. Did I think she would actually stay vegetarian? Nope. Did I have a problem with her becoming a vegetarian? Nope. Other than losing my wing eating partner (who still went with me and just ate something else) her dietary decision had no effect on me at all. I could never be a vegetarian, but it works for her. She’s happier and healthier and feels better now than she ever did before. That’s really all I care about anyways.

My point is, can’t we all just get along? Ok ,that might be pushing it because let’s be honest- the answer is no. But can’t we all at least shut the hell up about other peoples decisions that don’t affect you in the slightest?

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Egg Muffins | Paleo For Beginners

Leave a Reply

