“Paleo Desserts”

I know I have shared my thoughts on paleo desserts before, but since I actually took the time to make 3 different ones last weekend, I figured I should dedicate a whole post to them.

I’m not going to lie to you: I am not a fan of “paleo desserts.” Mainly because I find that phrase to be an oxymoron. I think that using something like coconut sugar or coconut milk rather than table sugar or regular milk in order to call something paleo is kind of a cop out. At the end of the day, sugar is sugar. Coconut sugar is minimally better for you than white sugar, but really not by much (depending which source you decide to trust). At the end of the day, you really shouldn’t be consuming either. Both Juli Baur (paleomg) and Alanna (planksloveandguacamole) – where I got my dessert recipes from- have made that point though. “Paleo desserts” are still desserts and therefore should be eaten in moderation. Just because they are “paleo,” that doesn’t mean that you can (or should) consume an entire plate of them.

That being said, as I scroll through my Paleoforbeginners Instagram feed, I sometimes find myself curious about these paleo desserts. So many people do them. SO many people post about them. Like I’ve said over and over, I really don’t have much of an interest in making them. When I want dessert I eat a handful of shaved coconut or a piece of dark chocolate.

So last weekend, I finally found an excuse to make “paleo desserts.” My mom took a super awesome job within her company and is moving to Connecticut this Sunday for the next 6 months. I’m so proud of her and excited for her, so I decided to throw a surprise party for her. What I didn’t do is take any pictures of the desserts that I made for the party. But that’s really ok since it was warm and sunny and everything melted into a big blob. They were delicious though.

These are literally the only two pictures I took of the whole party. I am a failure! But, enjoy:
photo 1

photo 3

I made Chocolate Chip Raw Cookie Dough Balls from Planks, Love and Guacamole. I thought they were amazing, but I did find myself a little stuck in the recipe. I chose to do her Chocolate Chip Raw Cookie Dough balls (there are 3 different raw dough balls in the recipe). I bought all of the ingredients, but when I was going through the directions it said to add almond butter. One of the other recipes is for Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls, but that wasn’t the one I chose. I got a little confused and wasn’t sure if I should use almond butter or not. I didn’t want to mess up the consistency, so I used some vanilla almond butter I had on hand. I think I would have been fine without the almond butter and I was kind of mad that I got confused and put it in. They were still good, but not what I was looking for.

I also made her No Bake Samoa Bites. Those were absolutely divine, but I did have a little bit of trouble getting the “caramel” topper to set. They were a huge hit anyways!

Finally, I made Juli Bauer’s Easy Chocolate Almond Butter Cups. I decided to use peanut butter instead of almond butter, mainly because I still am not in love with almond butter. I don’t know if that screwed up the consistency, but they were kind of runny. Especially once I put them out in the sun.

Overall, the desserts were a huge hit (granted they were the only desserts there), but I don’t think I’ll go through the trouble of making them again. I wasn’t super impressed with the overall outcome, and it was a lot of work (and more expensive materials) for a so-so result. I 100% take all of the credit for them not turning out well since I am not a baker, and I am some what of a “paleo dessert” naysayer anyways. But I must say, thanks for the recipes ladies!

I do have a “dessert” recipe that I have fallen in love with that only requires 2 ingredients and an oven, but you must like sweet potatoes ;). I’ll post that “recipe” tomorrow!

2 responses

  1. So sorry they didn’t turn out like you’d expected!  Paleo desserts are hard!  Results will vary based on what brands you use… The addition of almond butter in my raw cookie dough balls is only for the almond butter raw cookie dough balls.  So, adding it to the regular choc chip raw cookie dough balls would definitely change the taste and texture 😦 and using the wrong coconut milk would easily make the caramel not set. It has to be just the fat from the can. Anyway, happy you were still able to enjoy the desserts and the party!

    • They were SO good, and I was excited to finally make a paleo dessert lol! And I did use the fat from the coconut milk, but I think I need to try a different brand. I also think I needed to cook it on the stovetop a bit longer. And after rereading your post today on the raw cookie dough balls, on a computer (I was on my phone when making them) I think it was completely user error. It’s pretty clear to only add the almond butter to the almond butter balls lol. I might give those a shot again because they were SO easy! Also I am OBSESSED with your pork chop marinade and I make it at least once a week on chops and on chicken, so thanks for that recipe too lol!

Leave a Reply

