Thai Coconut Curry Chicken

photo 2 (16)
Happy day after Earth Day! I don’t really celebrate Earth Day (and by not really I mean not at all), but just in case you do, I figured I would throw it out there. Earth Day is sandwiched by Easter and TJ’s birthday, so this is a busy week for me.

Easter was awesome. We filled it with lots of family, lots of food and lots of wine. We started the day at brunch with TJ’s family where basically nothing I ate was paleo. Then we went to my grandmothers for dinner where almost everything we ate was paleo. It was such a fun day with a lot of good food, but I really hate the holidays that fall on Sundays. Almost as much as I hate the ones that fall in the middle of the week. I hate going to work the day after such a busy day. Running between my family and TJ’s, eating a drinking non-stop can really take it out of you. We almost always use our Sunday’s for relaxation/recovery. The last two Sundays we were out at family functions so we haven’t really gotten the recovery we’ve needed. Plus on Friday and Saturday we spent a good couple of hours (like 8) digging a huge trench and moving over 6 tons of rocks from a pick up truck bed to the back and side of our garage so the garage will stop flooding and we can finally move our gym equipment in and work out at home. That was absolutely exhausting, but the finished product looks really good. Now we just need it to rain so we can see if it actually works..

Anyways, here are some pictures from the weekend:

photo 1 (21)

It took 6 tons and about 100 trips with two wheelbarrows full of bluestones to fill up the trenches we dug

photo 2 (17)

But its done! Now, we just need some rain to test it out. I’m pretty sure if this doesn’t work, TJ is putting the house up for sale. Wish me luck. I really don’t want to move again.

photo 3 (14)

Easter Dinner – carving the ham with the worlds largest knife.

Ok back to what really matters here: the recipe. This is a recipe I basically threw together because I had cauliflower and leftover coconut milk and I wanted to try to make a Thai-style dish. I wish I had curry paste. I’m over curry powder. I don’t think it really imparts the same flavors. If you have curry paste, definitely use it instead of the curry powder in the recipe.

Working with cauliflower is a real bitch. It gets everywhere. Literally. I will be cleaning tiny little nuggets of cauliflower off of my kitchen floor and counters for a week. If it wasn’t so good, I would never make it.

photo 1 (20)

Ingredients:

1 head of cauliflower, grated or riced in your food processor. I explain how to rice cauliflower in this recipe.

1lb boneless chicken breasts, cut into bite size pieces

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

2 tbsp. coconut oil

1 small yellow onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup coconut milk

1/2 cup chicken stock

1 bag of mixed vegetables. I happened to have a stir-fry blend on hand, but frozen mixed veggies or fresh ones that you dice yourself will do just fine. My mixture had carrots, broccoli and sugar snap peas in it. I also diced up some mushrooms and threw them in because they were going to go bad.

2 tbsp. curry paste (or powder if that’s all you have on hand)

Cilantro (for garnish), cut into thin slices.

Directions:

Cut your chicken and season with the salt and pepper. Brown your cauliflower rice in a pain with 1 tbsp. of coconut oil. While that is browning, put your chicken and onions into a pan with the other 1 tbsp. of coconut oil to cook. Once your chicken is cooked (no pink showing), add everything else to the pan and stir really well. Let it simmer for about 10 minutes so all of the flavors mix really well. Serve over your cauliflower rice and top with your cilantro.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Crispy Crust Cauliflower Pizza | Paleo For Beginners

Leave a Reply

