Spaghetti Pizza Casserole

photo 2 (14)

 

I was so excited this weekend that it was finally getting warmer here in Maryland. And then I woke up today to cold and rain. I think this is without a doubt the longest winter we’ve had here. At least that I can remember.

Saturday I woke up at 8 am (a huge feat for me when I had had a few drinks the night before) so that I could go to the first day of the Farmers Market here. It was a little chilly out, and I was slightly hungover, but I was still so excited. Since it was the first day and it is really early in the season, there wasn’t a whole lot to chose from. There were LOTS of herbs, some really delicious caramels that I had to sample, and a lot of artisanal stuff. I wasn’t really into the blown glass and wax figures. I was there for the vegetables and meat. The vegetables were a pretty big let down, but I did score a pound of local lamb (for a recipe I’m trying tonight) and a pound of local pork sausage. I’m so excited for the farmers markets to come back. Getting local stuff isn’t super easy here, so when I have the opportunity I jump at it. Plus it gives me something to do during the day on weekends.

photo 1 (15)

After the farmers market I dropped my mom off for a massage and I had a lot of time to kill before I had to pick her up. I wandered around Giant for a good 45 minutes so that between the farmers market and my shopping trip that day I’m pretty sure I don’t need to go to the grocery store for the rest of the month. But I still had like 45 minutes before I could pick up my mom, so I wandered over to Home Depot. All the herbs at the farmers market inspired me and I decided I wanted to grow my own in our back yard. I’m still obsessed with making pesto, so I’d rather grow my own basil than have to buy it every week. Plus having fresh herbs like rosemary and cilantro is so much better than using the dried stuff.

photo 1 (16)

Yay for fresh herbs!

Anyways, since I had fresh pork I decided to recreate one of my favorite recipes from PaleOMG. This is so good and pretty easy to make. Hers is a “5 ingredient pie”, but I used more vegetables so mine definitely had more than 5 ingredients. I always think making something like a casserole is such a good idea because I can put it in TJ’s lunch all week. And then he eats like half of it for dinner and there’s not a whole lot left for the upcoming week. Oh well. At least it’s good!

Ingredients:

1 spaghetti squash

1 LB ground sausage. Any ground meat will really work, but sausage is my favorite for this dish. Bonus points if you can find hot sausage.

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 yellow onion, diced

1 cup mushrooms, sliced

1 1/2 cups spinach

1 cup sugar free pizza sauce

3 eggs, whisked

1 cup shredded cheese, if you do primal.

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Cook your spaghetti squash. Instructions on the various cooking techniques can be found here.

While your spaghetti squash cools, cook your meat in a pan with the garlic and onions. Once the meat is almost done, add in the mushrooms and spinach. Your meat is cooked when there is no pink anywhere in the meat. Finally add your pizza sauce to the meat mixture and mix it all up.

Thread your spaghetti squash and put it into a casserole dish. Add your meat mixture and stir until everything is blended well.

photo 2 (13)Not the prettiest picture, but this is what mine looked like before baking.

Now, add your whisked eggs and again stir until everything is blended. Finally, top with your cheese.

photo 3 (11)

I only did half with cheese because TJ didn’t want cheese on his half.

Cook in the oven for about 35 minutes, or until the top is firm and crispy.

photo 5 (7)All done!

 

 

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Lamb Burgers with Tzatziki Sauce, Cucumber Salad and Yucca Fries (NOT Strict Paleo) | Paleo For Beginners

Leave a Reply

