Super Salad

photo 3 (10)

I can’t even think of a better name for this salad. The amount of goodness in it is way too awesome for any other name. It doesn’t require a lot of cooking other than the meats and the prep is pretty minimal.

I am not huge on making salads, probably because unless you use spinach or kale there are very little nutrients in iceberg and romaine lettuce. Plus, I live with a guy. Guys don’t really want salads every night. Unless it’s this salad. Or my Spinach Strawberry Salad. TJ told me he would eat both of those every single day if I made them. I won’t, because I like variety, but it’s nice to hear that something so simple is still really well received.

I’ve fallen into kind of a slump with my cooking. I keep making the same stuff that I enjoy over and over, and it makes it hard to run a blog with new recipes when I’m not making new recipes myself. I need some suggestions of recipes you’re looking for! Or I need warmer weather. I think that might inspire me to change up what I’m making. I’ll take either one at this point. My sister sent me a recipe for a salad that was very similar to this one so I just tweaked it a bit to make it paleo. I guess I need to spend more time online looking for recipes for inspiration.

So, give me recipe or post suggestions.. Ready? GO!

Ingredients:

1/2 LB shrimp, uncooked

2 strips of bacon

1/2 cup spinach

1/2 cup kale

1/2 cucumber. Or one baby cucumber, which is what I used because I had a pack in the fridge.

1/4 cup peanuts. Peanuts are not technically paleo since they are not a nut but a legume, and legumes aren’t paleo. If you want to stay strict, eliminate the peanuts or use a different nut, like a walnut. I personally chose to buck tradition and use crushed peanuts. Sue me.

1 TBSP fresh cilantro

1/2 avocado

1 TBSP butter or other oil (coconut, olive, etc)

1/4 cup Tessemae’s soy ginger dressing. If you can’t find this locally, any other paleo dressing will work just the same, including a simple oil and vinegar.

1/4 TSP Old Bay. If you can’t get Old Bay where you live, I pity you. Old Bay is amazing. It is basically just celery salt, red and black pepper, paprika and I can only assume a little salt. It is amazing on all seafood and a diet staple to Marylanders. Luckily, you are able to order Old Bay online.

photo (10)

Directions:

First and foremost, chop your kale and spinach and place it into a bowl. Top with your dressing and put it into the fridge. Kale is bitter when raw, so you want it to sit in the dressing for a bit to soften up.

Next up, peel your shrimp, take the tails off and wash your shrimp. To wash, just rinse it in a colander under cold water and pat dry with a paper towel.

photo 2 (12)

Next, cook your shrimp on medium heat on a skillet with the Old Bay or whatever seasoning you decide to use and your fat (butter or oil). Shrimp is done when it is pink all the way around. Once cooked, set aside to cool. Cook your bacon to your liking (I prefer mine crispy, especially when topping a salad). Set aside to cool as well.

While your meats are cooling, chop all of your vegetables and crush the peanuts. I just put them in a plastic bag and bang on them with something heavy. Be careful if you use this super technical method, because a peanut can pierce the bag and create a mess.

Finally, take your kale and spinach out of the fridge, top with all of your ingredients, garnish with the cilantro and enjoy!

**Note: this recipe is for one salad only. Double, triple, etc as necessary.**

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Favorite Recipe Round Up | Paleo For Beginners

  2. This looks super yummy. I will need to plan ahead to make it. How about some paleo casseroles? Can be made before working out and easy to eat when I get home. Soups too.

Leave a Reply

