Teriyaki Meatza

photo 3 (2)

If you’ve ever looked for a completely paleo-friendly pizza recipe, you have to have come across meatza. Meatza is exactly what it sounds like – pizza made with meat as the crust. I have made this about 4,000 different ways now, but I think this one is my favorite. I’m not usually a huge fan of mixing salty and sweets, but the pineapple is just the perfect hint of sweet for me.

Some of the ingredients are going to be a little more complicated than I usually include- don’t freak out. I will include their non-paleo counterparts if you are in a pinch (or don’t care).

I might try this sometime in the future with the cauliflower crust that I talked about in my post on my favorite paleo snacks. If I do, I promise I will share the super easy recipe!

photo 1 (4)

Veggies, veggies and more veggies. Use whatever you have laying around! Don’t let anything go to waste!

This is great for meal prep since you will most likely have leftovers. Unless you are cooking for 4 (or in my household 2, one of whom eats for 3). Then you will probably not have leftovers. If you want leftovers, I don’t suggest doubling the recipe because you will have a really thick meat crust. Instead, just make two of these in two separate dishes.

photo 5 (3)

Not the most appetizing picture, but I chopped up the meat and took this for leftovers for a few days.

photo 4 (3)

One time, when eating this meatza as leftovers for dinner, I actually grilled up some leftover pineapple and avocado to top this dish with. The possibilities are endless!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lbs ground meat. Any will do, but the best ones for this recipe are turkey, pork or chicken.

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 teaspoon of fresh ginger, grated. Ps: my one of my favorite tricks I learned was to keep your ginger in the freezer. It will last forever and grates really easily when it is frozen.

1/2 cup coconut aminos. Relax, these are just a paleo version of soy sauce. You can look for gluten free soy sauce or just use regular soy sauce if you don’t care.

1 tbsp honey. You can leave this out, but I had some on hand so I threw it in.

1 tbsp. Nom Nom Paleo’s sriracha. Or another paleo sriracha. Or regular sriracha. Whatever.

1 tsp sesame oil

1/2 yellow onion, diced

2 bell sliced peppers. Colors don’t matter. I am not a huge cooked pepper fan, so I support you leaving these out if you feel so inclined.

1/2 cup broccoli, cut into bite size pieces

1 carrot, shredded. The easiest way to do this is just use your carrot peeler and peel a little slivers until you run out of carrot.

3/4 cup pineapple, sliced into bite size pieces.

1/4 cup of tomato. Any kind will do – grape tomatoes cut in half, a whole tomato cut into pieces, etc.

1 tbsp. coconut oil or olive oil.

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350. Combine the first 8 ingredients in a bowl. As usual, mix them up really well with your (clean) hands. I used to have a really hard time touching raw meat, but I promise you will get over it. Quickly.

Grease a brownie pan with your coconut oil or olive oil. Dump your meat mixture into the greased pan and spread it out so that it is flat (like a crust- get it?). Then, top with all of your veggies, excluding the carrots*. Feel free to add as many veggies as you would like. These happen to be what I had on hand at the time that went with my Asian-style meal.

Cook for about 25-30 minutes. Make sure there is no pink in your meat (especially if using turkey, pork or chicken).

*Add your carrots when there is about 5 minutes left of cooking time. They are very thin and will burn if you add them with the rest of the vegetables.

photo 3 (3)

Slice it into pieces and enjoy!

PS: If you happen to have a spare avocado laying around, they are a great topper for this dish. Just slice one up and throw it on top, or throw it in your leftovers the next morning right before you walk out the door (to minimize browning time).

Leave a Reply

