Mémère Soup

photo (4)

Obviously, I do not have a picture for this recipe. Mainly because no picture of how this soup looks will ever make it look edible. It’s green/brownish depending on what vegetables you use and overall not super appetizing looking. But I promise that it is delicious.

So I decided to do a little throwback picture to my mom, sister and I deadlifting in the pouring rain. This picture is probably close to two years old, way back when we first started Crossfit, but I think it’s awesome. And since this soup recipe came from my mom’s mom (my mémère), I thought a family lifting picture was appropriate.

This is a soup that my mother and grandmother have made for as long as I can remember (and probably way before that). It seems so simple when you eat it, but it is packed full of vegetables. It’s one of those things that you make a ton of, split it up into containers and eat for like a week. It’s also one of those things that you can pretty much throw anything from your fridge in and it will still taste amazing. If I have tomatoes or spinach or leeks that are about to go bad but I am not ready to make the soup yet, I just throw them in a ziplock bag and toss them in the freezer for later. Then, when soup time comes, I just toss the frozen stuff into the pot. Yes, I just said soup time. I don’t know why I called it that. Whatever.

Ingredients:

This is going to be a very general list because there really is no exact science to this. If you don’t have something, the world isn’t going to end. If you want to add something that isn’t on this list, do it. It’s your soup.

Spinach. I usually use a full bag.

Leeks, washed and sliced.

Carrots, peeled and sliced. I usually use between 4-5 large carrots.

Tomatoes. 2-3 large tomatoes will do, diced.

Potatoes, washed and diced. You can eliminate these since they are not paleo, but my grandmother always puts them in so I do too out of habit and respect.

A few stalks of celery, diced.

Literally anything else can be added to this- kale, garlic, onions, collard greens, etc. Keep in mind different vegetables will change the flavor a bit, but it will still be good!

Directions:

Put everything into a large pot and cover with 1 part water, 1 part chicken stock. If you don’t have chicken stock, just water will be fine. Bring everything to a boil for about 25 minutes, until the carrots and potatoes (if you used them) are soft enough to blend. If you have an immersion blender, just drop it into the pot and blend everything together. You can blend it in a regular blender as well. Just scoop it out with a ladle and mix it all back together once it has all been blended. If you are blending it in a regular blender, you need to let everything cool first or the blender top will explode (trust me).

You can eat this soup hot or cold, and it is perfect to throw into a thermos in the morning and drink on your way to work when you are running a little behind on time! My grandmother always adds a dallop of sour cream to her soup (which is not paleo), so you can try that as well!

Leave a Reply

