Paleo On The Go Snacks (with lots of pictures!)

I know, I know. It’s been days since I’ve posted anything. That whole working full-time and trying to have a social life really gets in the way of blogging. I promise, I have plenty of posts ready for you! I’m pretty embarrassed that my first post after almost a week is a really lame, rhyme-y titled post. Oh well. It is what it is. photo 5 (4)

So last Friday I went to Whole Foods because I have been dying to get my hands on some Tessemae’s paleo sauces. Imagine my excitement when I got there and not only were they doing samplings of a few of their sauces, but after talking with a brand ambassador I also found out that the company started right near my hometown of Annapolis, Maryland. Luckily for me, they have pretty much every flavor of Tessemae’s at my local Whole Foods. I ended up buying their ketchup, hot sauce (which is what I originally went for) and this super amazing soy ginger dressing. I have to admit, the ketchup is a little sweeter than I prefer and I still need to give the hot sauce another chance, but the soy ginger dressing is amazing. For how much I go through hot sauce, I’m not sure that I would keep buying it, and I don’t use salad dressings very often and when I do I would prefer to have a paleo version, so I will definitely keep the soy ginger in my fridge. I actually can’t wait to try more of their flavors.

After I tried all of the flavors that Tessemae’s was sampling that day, I wandered around Whole Foods for a while, mainly because I was going to the 5 o’clock class at TJ’s gym and I had a lot of time to kill. This might be paleo sacrilege, but holy crap is Whole Foods overpriced. I know that they carry super awesome products for vegans and vegetarians and paleo people, but some of it really made my head spin. Basically I left with Tessemae’s (which I went there for), a $70 grocery bill and a feeling of regret. I have to be honest, other than to buy more Tessemae’s, I may not ever make it back into Whole Foods again. I have lived this long without going there regularly, so I think I’ll survive.

After leaving Whole Foods, I still had a lot of time so I ran into Trader Joe’s. Mainly because it was on my way to the gym, but also because I wanted to do a little comparative shopping. Granted my Trader Joe’s is way smaller than Whole Foods, and therefore carries a lot less variety, but the prices were so much cheaper. And they carry these really good chocolate chip cookies (completely not paleo) called dippers that I am obsessed with. I bought a tub. Yup, a tub. And TJ gave up sugar for Lent, so they should actually last me like 40+ days for once.

I just realized that I spent a lot of time in grocery stores last week. Like way more than I normally do. Luckily we were home all weekend and had a snow day Monday, so I basically just cooked a lot. And I drank a lot of wine. Wine gives me really bad, really long hangovers. Ugh. I wish I didn’t love it.

What did I cook, you’re wondering? I cooked buffalo chicken in the crock pot, I cooked snacks (which I’ll get to in a minute), I cooked Stupid Easy Paleo’s Chick Fil A Nuggets (which are to die for), basically I just cooked all weekend. It made for a nice easy week of lunches for TJ since I haven’t had to do as much at night to prepare his lunches this week.

photo 3 (5)

If you make the recipe just right, they are borderline better than Chick Fil A nuggets. Seriously, go to her website and read the recipe now. Plus I ate them with kale chips. What is better than that?

Anyways, during all of this cooking I realized that I had so much food I had no excuse not to start bringing snacks and lunch with me to work every day. And, since today is the start of Lent, I have decided to give up eating out for meals during the week. Mainly because I do it out of pure laziness and the money that I spend is stupid. There is no reason for me to go to the Dunkin Doughnuts by my work for a cup of coffee when I have a coffee maker and coffee at home or to stop and grab something quick and easy when I can very well prepare a lunch the night before, at the same time I am already making TJ’s lunch. I am notoriously bad at keeping up with what I give up for Lent, but I am going to make a real effort this time.

So back to what’s important here: snacks. Last week I was inspired by my friend Charlotte Jarrett to work on making a list of my favorite paleo snacks. Char sent me a picture of these cauliflower breadsticks that she made last week, and I was so mind blown just by the picture that she sent me that I had to make them myself. Granted, these aren’t paleo since they contain cheese, but it did gave me ideas for how I could try to make paleo bread using just cauliflower and eggs.

photo 2 (5)

Yup that’s cauliflower, not bread. Yup, the picture sucks. That was after a few glasses of wine. Sorry.

Those breadsticks got me thinking: I like snacks. I like snacks a lot. And I make a lot of paleo versions of snacks, such as: carrot fries, kale chips, chicken salad stuffed mini peppers, cucumber tuna fish boats, beef and chicken jerky, and the ultimate in easiness and deliciousness: spinach wrapped in bacon.

photo 1 (6)

The beginning of my beef and chicken jerky in my new dehydrator. FYI: it sucked. I think it’s the dehydrator, but I have a new batch drying right now so I’ll know shortly.

photo 2 (4)

Tuna fish “boats” (named by TJ). These are super simple, just slice in half and seed a cucumber, toss some pepper on the cucumber and add your tuna fish. I prefer to make mine with a little bit of mayo and a lot of pickles, but you can make yours however you like!

photo 1 (7)

Directions: cook bacon. I cook it slightly less than I normally prefer it (I normally like it crispy) because you need it to be able to wrap around the spinach. Take spinach out of bag. Wrap a handful of spinach in bacon. Shove in mouth. Repeat.

Eating paleo when traveling a lot for work (whether it be flying or just driving a lot during the day) can be easy, as long as you’re willing to do a little prep work. To be perfectly honest with you, I am not a huge fan of meal prep. Eating the same thing day after day after day can get really boring. I usually purposely overcook the night before, making sure there are going to be leftovers to take the next day. That way every day is something a little bit different (unless I really overcook, which I’ve done before. Then we get stuck eating the same thing for a few days).

Other super easy paleo snacks are almonds, Epic bars, broccoli and twang sauce (another one named by TJ- just yellow mustard and Sriracha mixed together – Sriracha is not paleo, but Nom Nom Paleo has a great 20 minute recipe for one), grape tomatoes, granola (check to make sure it is paleo). The list goes on and on. What are some of your favorite paleo on the go snacks?!

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Crispy Crust Cauliflower Pizza | Paleo For Beginners

  2. Pingback: Teriyaki Meatza | Paleo For Beginners

  3. Soup – asparagus, Memere’s- in a hot mug to go, homemade trail mix, olives to name a few. Bacon wrapped spinach is the best breakfast on the go!

Leave a Reply

