Avocado + Buffalo Sauce = The Best Guacamole Ever

avocado

I really should start this post with my ode to avocados. Like many things, I was an avocado virgin just a few years ago. I regret my former disdain for avocados every day. I seriously missed out for the 24 years that I didn’t put them on anything and everything. If you’ve read my recipe for the easiest and most delicious salad ever, which you can find here, then you will see where my love of avocados began. My former roommate used to make that salad for us pretty much every night when we started Crossfit and eating better, and that’s when I realized how unbelievable avocados were.

I quickly started buying them and putting them on just about everything: sandwiches, salads, even soup. Plus they are a great snack to take to work and eat plain. All I do it put a little swipe of Dijon mustard on top (yes I carry Dijon mustard around with me), sprinkle on a little salt, and eat it with a spoon. I’ve made guacamole the traditional way, I’ve made a much simpler versions to go with meals that won’t really work with the traditional cilantro and lime based-guacamole, and then I tried out buffalo guacamole.

photo (13)

In case you didn’t know, I’m obsessed with buffalo sauce. I put it on or in pretty much anything I can. Avocado + buffalo sauce = give me a spoon and forget about whatever I was supposed to serve this with, because I’m eating it plain. If you don’t like things spicy or you’re not a huge fan of buffalo sauce (first of all, what is wrong with you?) I will include a recipe for regular guacamole below the buffalo guacamole recipe. Guacamole and avocados in general are one of the fastest things to throw on top of dinner for a different flavor and texture, plus it adds some great healthy fat to your meal.

Guacamole is a funny word, and writing it over and over makes you wonder if you’re spelling it right. Thank God for spell check.

Ingredients (Buffalo Guacamole):

1 ripe avocado

1/4 cup chopped red onion

1/4 cup of buffalo sauce. Again, I usually use Frank’s since the ingredients are simple, but I am looking into trying Tessame’s Buffalo Sauce because I have read nothing but great things about it.

If you are eating primal, or you just like cheese, you can add in some bleu cheese as well. Note: that will make this dish not strict paleo.

**My picture above also includes diced tomatoes. I used those mainly because they were about to go bad, and I am not a fan of throwing away my money. Feel free to add whatever else you want to your guac.**

Directions:

Place your scooped avocado into a bowl. Hint: Save the pit if you are planning on saving this for later. It may help reduce browning. Add your chopped onion and your buffalo sauce and mash it all up. This requires no more than a fork to get everything mashed properly. Once it is all mashed to the consistency that you prefer, you can add your tomatoes and cheese (if you are using it) and gently stir everything together again. If you are waiting to serve this until later, there are 2 great tips for keeping the color of avocado (because FYI the color changes but the flavor absolutely does not. Slightly brown guacamole is still delicious guacamole): 1. put the pit in the middle of your guacamole, cover and store it in the fridge, 2. cover with saran wrap and press the saran wrap into the bowl so that it is literally touching the guacamole. Oxygen really is your enemy in this scenario; the less oxygen you allow to reach the avocado, the less brown it will become.

For regular, non-buffalo guacamole:

Ingredients:

1 ripe avocado

1/4 cup chopped red onion

1-2 cloves of minced garlic

1 diced jalapeno. Again, if you are looking to keep your gauc on the more mild side, omit the jalapeno. If you want it a little bit spicy but not over the top, make sure you do not include the jalapeno seeds. Also, make sure you wash your hands really well after cutting a jalapeno. Holy crap does it ever hurt if you touch your eye with that oil still on your fingers.

1/4 cup diced tomato

2 TSP chopped cilantro

2 TSP lime juice

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Same as above. Mash your avocado and then stir in the rest of your ingredients. Storage (and anti-browning) is the same as well.

What is your favorite thing to put guacamole on? I am always looking for new ways to try it!

2 responses

  1. Guacamole is a great side for anything! That is something I learned from you all. But, no one has ever made me buffalo sauce guacamole. Ahem!

Leave a Reply

