Kale Chips

photo 3 (1)
I grew up in a very normal household of 3 kids (I am the epitome of a middle child). However, I have heard stories (from my dad’s family, mostly) about growing up with multiple siblings and fighting for your food every night at dinner before someone else ate it all. That’s how I feel when I make kale chips and TJ and I have to share them. If I don’t keep shoveling them in my mouth, I won’t get any.


If you have never had homemade kale chips, I’m sorry for you. They’re probably one of the best things ever. The only reason I don’t make them more is because they take more prep time than they do to eat, but that’s only because they get devoured in like 35 seconds once they come out of the oven. They actually only require a few ingredients and they’re pretty fast to make.

If you haven’t started eating kale yet, this is a great way to start. I was hesitant about it at first, but now that I’ve starting learning all of these fun ways to cook it, I’m obsessed. Plus, it’s pretty cheap as far as vegetables go. And you can’t beat the health benefits. Cheap, easy, good and good for you? Why are you not in your car on the way to buy some kale right now?!

I’ve seen kale chips in various grocery stores (even in my local Shop Rite, which shocked me) but, first of all, they were $8.99 for like 10 chips. Are you freaking kidding me? Second of all, I’m not in love with the flavors they offer. Some aren’t terrible, but I prefer mine pretty simple. Plus I can make literally 10x that amount for a quarter of the cost. And they taste better? Yup, I’ll stick to making my own thanks.

photo 4 (2)

Ingredients:

1 bunch of washed kale. You can use pre-washed and bagged kale as well. When making chips, I tend to want to use the fresh bunches. You want your kale completely dry when cooking it, so make sure that you dry it after washing.

1 TBSP olive oil

1/4 TSP garlic salt. If you are salt sensitive, opt for less or just use garlic powder. The oil really soaks up the salt flavor, so you will notice it.

A few shakes of cayenne pepper. Literally, just a few shakes. Again, the oil really brings out the flavors so you will taste the heat. If you don’t like your food a little spicy, skip the cayenne altogether.

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350. Rip or cut your kale from the stem so you are only working with the leaves and place into a mixing bowl. You want each piece to be bite-size or a little bit bigger. Too small and they will burn easily, too big and they crumble everywhere when you are trying to eat them. Drizzle the olive oil over top, then sprinkle everything else on. Massage your kale. Yup, massage it. You want each and every piece to be massaged with your olive oil and seasoning mixture. Once you have massaged every piece, place them flat on a cookie sheet. This is one instance where I usually do not line my cookie sheet with foil or parchment paper, but I assume you still could.

photo 1 (3)

Stick it in the oven and cook it for about 5-10 minutes, checking on it regularly. TJ prefers his chips a little bit undercooked (or “floppy”) and I usually like mine a little bit more crispy. It’s your call! Depending on how tightly you pack them together on the cookie sheet, this usually makes me 2-3 full cookie sheets of chips.

Do you have another way that you like to season your kale chips?

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Favorite Recipe Round Up | Paleo For Beginners

  2. Pingback: Egg Muffins | Paleo For Beginners

  3. Pingback: Bacon Bison Burgers | Paleo For Beginners

  4. Pingback: Paleo On The Go Snacks (with lots of pictures!) | Paleo For Beginners

Leave a Reply

