Simple Kale Salad

Kale Salad

There it is, another horrible picture of an otherwise delicious side dish. What the hell is wrong with me? I’m not sure what’s worse, that I took these god awful pictures or that I’m actually posting them as if they’re acceptable to put on a recipe blog? I don’t want to know.

I didn’t start eating kale until about 2 years ago, mainly as a push from my boyfriend for us to “cook new things together.” I’m sure that was actually a mind game he was playing to get me to make him better varieties of food. He’s good at that. It only took me 2 years to figure out. Damn. Anyways, my first attempts at kale were always stovetop simmered in chicken broth and vinegar. Really good, but that got old. Then I moved on to kale chips. Our obsession with those is no where near from fading, but its rare that we can eat them as a side dish since we usually devour them before they’re cool from the oven (yes, there will be a recipe for these). I’d heard of people making kale salads, but I was still super hesitant on raw kale. It’s really bitter and considering how long it takes to cook, I couldn’t imagine it actually being good raw. Well, I can admit when I’m wrong. And boy was I ever wrong. This salad is so easy and so delicious it’s almost stupid. Plus, raw versions of vegetables are obviously the most nutrient rich since you aren’t cooking out anything, so it has become one of my favorite things to make for a few reasons.

Ingredients:

3-4 Cups of Kale. This measurement is of the kale once it has been chopped for the salad.

Juice from 1/2 a lemon.

2-3 TSP Olive oil

2 cloves of minced garlic (again, I’m lazy and I keep a jar of organic pre minced garlic in my fridge, which I use here)

A few sprinkles of parmesan cheese (not paleo, so feel free to eliminate this if you are staying strict).

Salt pepper and a tiny bit of crushed red pepper to taste.

Instructions:

First, if you are using the kale that is on the stalks, you want to wash it. Then chop it all up. Chop the kale into little strips, then put it into a bowl. Squeeze the lemon over the kale and drizzle the olive oil on top as well. Then, top with the garlic, cheese, salt, pepper and red pepper. When it comes to consuming raw kale the leaves tend to be tougher and slightly more bitter than regular salad leaves, so you want to massage the leaves a little bit. It sounds really weird, but suck it up and put your (clean) hands into that bowl! If that really is too weird for you, just make sure you mix everything up really, really well. Then you want to let your mixed salad rest in the fridge for at least an hour, again to let all of the leaves soften up and the flavors really blend together. This is one salad that won’t wilt overnight, and there is usually enough leftover that TJ takes quite a bit in his lunch and (he says) it tastes just as good the next day!

One response

  1. Pingback: Creamy Kale Salad | Paleo For Beginners

Leave a Reply

