Bacon and Onion Brussel Sprouts

photo (1)So I am, admittedly, not very good at the whole “naming my posts/recipes” yet. I’ll work on that..

When I first started cooking paleo, I was scared/grossed out/intimidated by a lot of recipes. As far as Brussel Sprouts are concerned, I 100% blame my mom. She has always (and no matter how many times I make this for her, still does) hated Brussel Sprouts. She is also to blame for my aversion to fish, which I am still working on, and why I didn’t eat cooked carrots until college. Thanks mom!

This is another one of those super simple. I-don’t-feel-like-cooking-but-could-still-eat-this-almost-every-day recipes.

Ingredients:

Brussel Sprouts . These come in so many varieties for purchase – in steamable bags (which I just cut out of the bag without steaming), individually by the pound, on stalks (never, ever waste your time with these. They are such a pain to cut off the stalk), and in little cups at my local Shop Rite. I have made this recipe with all of these, and it makes absolutely no difference. You’ll need about 20-25 sprouts to cook this for 2 people.

1 Yellow or White Onion

1/2 pound of bacon

Pepper or red pepper flakes, to taste

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Then, cut up your bacon into bite size pieces and place it onto a foil lined baking sheet or dish. You actually don’t have to use a foil lined pan, I’m just lazy and the last thing I want to do after cooking an entire dinner is scrub dishes. Nooo thank you. Put the bacon in the over for no longer than 20 minutes. You want it to crisp up, but it will be going back in the over, so don’t over-do it.

While your bacon is cooking, prepare your sprouts. Chop the brown ends off the sprouts and then cut them in half. Depending on the size of the sprout, you may want to quarter them. The idea is to have them all similar sizes so they cook the same.

Then, cut your onion. Again, bite size pieces will do.

Once your bacon is done, take it out of the oven, throw the sprouts and onion into the pan and mix everything up. You want the fat from the bacon to coat everything, kind of like a “grease.” I usually add crushed black pepper to this because once I bought pepper bacon and it make the recipe really good, but I wasn’t about to keep spending the money on the fancy pepper bacon when I could have just as easily made it on my own. You can also add red pepper flakes to give it a little kick, or a few dashes of balsamic vinegar for a slightly different flavor.

Put the whole dish in the oven and bake for about 20-25 minutes, mixing it every 5-10 minutes or so to make sure everything stays evenly coated. That’s it!

The picture below is from the one time that I bought Brussel Sprouts on a stalk because I am a horrible impulse buyer and I thought it looked cool. That is where the appeal ended. Cutting it off of the stalk was kind of a pain in the ass, and it was actually enough for 2 dishes (which really isn’t a big deal, but I don’t have a lot of recipes for sprouts other than this one so making it 2 nights in a row wasn’t ideal).

Brussel Sprouts Stalk

One response

  1. Pingback: Favorite Recipe Round Up | Paleo For Beginners

Leave a Reply

